Zum Inhalt springen

Worldwide

All Stories

Video steht leider nicht mehr zur Verfügung

The National

One of the USA’s most venerated indie rock bands live from the Elbphilharmonie Grand Hall.

Opulent music in a concert hall with an opulent sound. With his band The National, which Bryce Dessner founded together with his brother Aaron in Ohio in 1999, the Elbphilharmonie welcomes a true indie-rock institution to the Grand Hall.

Since the release of their acclaimed album »High Violet« at the latest, and the bittersweet, melancholy hit »Bloodbuzz Ohio« of 2010, the touring quintet, now at home in Brooklyn/New York, have managed to progress beyond insider-tip status.The group’s majestically floating music owes much to the oaken baritone of singer Matt Berninger, a high priest of elegant melancholy, who licks his emotional wounds on stage as much as in the studio.

With songs that are often nothing short of hymns about grand feelings, about isolation, heartache and even everyday fears for one’s livelihood, The National belong to the tradition of bands like Echo and the Bunnymen, Tindersticks and Arcade Fire.

LATEST STORIES

Zum Inhalt springen

Worldwide

21.10.2017 Video on demand

The National

Eine der meistverehrten Indie-Rock-Bands der Vereinigten Staaten live aus dem Großen Saal – im Anschluss auch als Video on Demand ...

Video verfügbar bis 21.01.2018

Opulente Musik in einem Konzertsaal mit opulentem Klang. Mit seiner Band The National, die Bryce Dessner zusammen mit seinem Bruder Aaron 1999 in Ohio gründete, kommt eine echte Indierock-Institution in den Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie.

Spätestens mit ihrem hochgelobten Album »High Violet« und dem bittersüß-melancholischen Hit »Bloodbuzz Ohio« aus dem Jahr 2010 hat das vieltourende Quintett, das inzwischen in Brooklyn/New York lebt, den Sprung aus der Geheimtipp-Nische geschafft. Prägendes Element in ihrer majestätisch schwebenden Musik ist der eichene Bariton von Sänger Matt Berninger, einem Hohepriester eleganter Schwermut, der auch live auf der Bühne seine seelischen Wunden leckt.

Mit ihren oft hymnischen Songs über große Gefühle, Isolation, Herzschmerz, aber auch ganz und gar irdische Existenzängste stehen The National in der Tradition von Bands wie Echo and the Bunnymen, den Tindersticks oder Arcade Fire.

Weitere Artikel