Zum Inhalt springen

Worldwide

Monophonie

He entices new sounds from a wild collection of home-mde instruments: Berlin-based DJ Phillip Sollmann.

In the international club scene the DJ and techno producer Phillip Sollmann is better known as Efdemin. Under this pseudonym he stands at the turntable in hip Berlin clubs, and releases records on the Hamburg label Dial Records. But first and foremost, Sollmann is a passionate inventor, and his musical experiments regularly prompt him to venture into uncharted territory.

Interview with Phillip Sollmann

Phillip Sollmann

THE INSTRUMENTS OF HARRY PARTCH

At a concert given by the Ensemble Musikfabrik, Phillip Sollmann heard the strange instruments built by American composer Harry Partch: marimbas made from light bulbs, bells from cut-off demijohns, Japanese temple bowls…Sollmann was delighted by what he heard.

»It was one of my most intense musical experiences,« he says, looking back. »Afterwards, I was even keener to work not only with the instruments, but with the ensemble as well: Musikfabrik couldn’t be more different; they are simply unique.« Sollmann started to explore the work of Harry Partch, and this marked the beginning of »Monophonie«.

THE BIRTH OF MONOPHONIE

Phillip Sollmann Monophonie

FROM ANALOGUE TO DIGITAL AND BACK TO ANALOGUE

For »Monophonie«, in addition to the Harry Partch instruments, Sollmann also uses a double siren made by acoustic researcher Hermann von Helmholtz, as well as instruments built specially for this piece by Val Bertoia. In order to be able to work with the different instruments, Sollmann recorded them singly and stored them on his computer as samples. He then started to compose at the computer using these files. In the next step, his compositions were translated back into a score so that it could be played by the Ensemble Musikfabrik.

Thus »Monophonie«, although it was composed electronically, is purely acoustic, »microtonal, polyrhythmic music«, as Sollmann himself says. Nonetheless, when the deep bass of Partch’s giant marimba is heard on stage, the listener feels a bit as if he were in a club.

EXTRACT FROM MONOPHONIE

Phillip Sollmann

»Monophonie« can be heard live in Hamburg at Greatest Hits, the festival for contemporary music put on by the Elbphilharmonie, Kampnagel and NDR »das neue werk«. The Ensemble Musikfabrik and its collection of instruments present the piece on 2 and 3 November at Kampnagel.

Hear »Monophonie« at the »Greatest Hits« festival on 2 and 3 November

Go to festival calender

Monophonie beim Festival »Greatest Hits«

    LATEST STORIES

Zum Inhalt springen

Worldwide

Monophonie

Einer ziemlich verrückten Sammlung selbstgebauter Instrumente entlockt er neue Töne: der Berliner DJ Phillip Sollmann.

In der internationalen Clubszene kennt man den DJ und Techno-Produzenten Phillip Sollmann vor allem als Efdemin. Unter diesem Pseudonym legt er in angesagten Berliner Clubs auf und veröffentlicht Platten beim Hamburger Label Dial Records. Doch Sollmann ist vor allem auch ein leidenschaftlicher Tüftler – und wagt sich für seine Klangexperimente immer wieder auf unbekanntes Terrain.

Interview mit Phillip Sollmann

Phillip Sollmann

DIE INSTRUMENTE VON HARRY PARTCH

Bei einem Konzert des Ensemble Musikfabrik hörte Phillip Sollmann die eigenartigen Instrumente des amerikanischen Komponisten Harry Partch: Marimbas aus Glühbirnen, Glocken aus abgetrennten Glasballons, japanische Tempelschalen. Sollmann war begeistert.

»Es war eins meiner intensivsten musikalischen Erlebnisse«, meint er im Rückblick, »danach war der Wunsch umso größer, nicht nur mit den Instrumenten, sondern auch mit dem Ensemble zu arbeiten, weil es einfach extrem einzigartig ist.« Sollmann begann, sich mit Harry Partch auseinanderzusetzen. Es war der Beginn von »Monophonie«.

DIE ENTSTEHUNG VON MONOPHONIE

Phillip Sollmann Monophonie

VON ANALOG ZU DIGITAL ZU ANALOG

Für »Monophonie« verwendet Sollmann neben den Instrumenten von Harry Partch auch eine Doppelsirene des Klangforschers Hermann von Helmholtz sowie eigens für dieses Stück gebaute Instrumente von Val Bertoia. Um mit den verschiedenen Instrumenten arbeiten zu können, nahm Sollmann sie einzeln auf und legte sie als Sample auf seinem Computer ab. Mit den so gewonnenen Files begann er direkt am Rechner zu komponieren. Im nächsten Schritt wurden seine Kompositionen wieder zurück in eine Partitur übersetzt, die nun vom Ensemble Musikfabrik gespielt werden konnte.

»Monophonie« ist somit, obwohl elektronisch komponiert, rein akustische, »mikrotonale, polyrythmische Musik«, wie Sollmann selbst sagt. Und dennoch: Spätestens wenn auf der Bühne der tiefe Bass von Partchs Riesen-Marimba einsetzt, fühlt man sich ein wenig wie im Club.

AUSZUG AUS MONPHONIE

Phillip Sollmann

Im Rahmen von Greatest Hits, dem Festival für Zeitgenössische Musik von Elbphilharmonie, Kampnagel und der NDR-Reihe »das neue werk«, ist »Monophonie« live in Hamburg zu erleben. Das Ensemble Musikfabrik reist mitsamt seinem Instrumentarium an und präsentiert das Stück am 2. und 3. November auf Kampnagel.

»Monophonie« erklingt am 2. und 3. November beim Festival »Greatest Hits«

Zum Festivalprogramm

Monophonie beim Festival »Greatest Hits«

    Weitere Artikel