Zum Inhalt springen

Worldwide

Interview: Sasha Waltz

What’s it like to dance on top of the staircase railings in the Grand Hall foyer?

»The Elbphilharmonie is like a big steamship«

Sasha Waltz

Choreographer Sasha Waltz and her dance company took over the Elbphilharmonie for four days: Francis Poulenc’s choral work »Figure Humaine« formed the basis of the production with which they christened the building’s foyers from 1 to 4 January. The accompanying music was by Hildegard von Bingen, Béla Bartók, György Ligeti, Dmitri Shostakovich and others, and more than 80 dancers and musicians took part, the violinist Carolin Widmann among them.

Sasha Waltz & Guests in the Elbphilharmonie
Vocalconsort Berlin / Sasha Waltz & Guests Rehearsal

What was it about the Elbphilharmonie that particularly inspired you?

There are so many associations here. From the outside, the Elbphilharmonie is like a huge wave rising up out of the surrounding water. And this connection with the sky and the water can be felt inside as well: sometimes to quite dramatic effect, like when you walk up really close to the big panes of glass and find yourself standing at the edge of the building. At that moment you can really physically feel the force inherent in a glance upwards or downwards.

The interior, in turn, has its own clear focus, leading the way to either the Recital Hall or the Grand Hall, and the latter in particular has another whole range of associations in store: it’s like a big steamship that pushes the foyers around to the sides as if it were displacing water.

And then there’s the structure’s outer skin, whose surface is made up of lots and lots of wavelets, as if you’re looking down from above at water ruffled by the breeze. So the architecture itself already shows that there are certain directions in the space that we can follow.

Sasha Waltz & Guests Rehearsal
Sasha Waltz & Guests Rehearsal © Bernd Uhlig

You once said that you develop the individual movements of your choreography from the »atmosphere of the room«. Can you be more specific?

I pay exact attention to the architecture and exploit the possibilities it offers. Where are the lines of sight, what directions are dictated by the walls, and where does the architecture provide for movement? Often enough, I derive the details of my choreography from the function of architectural features; for example, in the Elbphilharmonie the wide wooden banisters and the stairs with their individual angles already suggest certain movements. The atmosphere is heavily influenced by the architecture. I listen to what the architecture tells me.

Peggy Grelat-Dupont / Sergiu Matis / Liza Alpízar Aguilar / Corey Scott-Gilbert / Sasha Waltz & Guests Rehearsal
Peggy Grelat-Dupont / Sergiu Matis / Liza Alpízar Aguilar / Corey Scott-Gilbert / Sasha Waltz & Guests Rehearsal © Bernd Uhlig

Are the dance and the accompanying music then laid down exactly, or are there also breathing spaces within this structure?

A lot of the choreography is laid down before the performance, but improvisation also occurs at certain points. I would tend to call it a »structured improvisation«, i.e. an improvisation with clearly determined rules.

Sasha Waltz
Sasha Waltz © Bernd Uhlig

The centre of the whole performance musically is Poulenc’s a cappella piece »Figure Humaine«. Why did you choose this particular work?

»Figure Humaine« was written during the Second World War, and in my opinion also stands for the current state of the world: anger and hatred are widespread, violence, terror and war. Poulenc’s work is a summons to reconciliation and humanity. It offers hope for the future, but first we have to pass through a veil of darkness. Like Poulenc’s contemporaries, we are living in difficult and troubled times, times when conflict is rife.

I feel that one cannot ignore this, even though the opening of the Elbphilharmonie is a joyful occasion. Thus we decided not just to play light-hearted Baroque music: that wouldn’t have felt right. I believe that artists in particular have a duty to confront reality. In that context, I see »Figure Humaine« on the one hand as admonitory, but also as a symbol of hope. The last movement of the work leads into a hymn of freedom: »Liberté«.

Vocalconsort Berlin / Carolin Widmann / Sasha Waltz
Vocalconsort Berlin / Carolin Widmann / Sasha Waltz © Bernd Uhlig

What effect does the special placing of the dancers and the audience have?

I would say that the spatial experience alone triggers a completely different perception of the music. Sitting in a concert, in the confines of a chamber music recital for example, you experience the music quite differently. Here, you can hear sounds from the distance and slowly stroll towards them; and at the same time you hear the dancers’ steps and their breathing, as well as all the other sounds around you, the audience included. Also, the musicians change position, so that the music is in motion and not static.

Sasha Waltz & Guests Rehearsal
Sasha Waltz & Guests Rehearsal © Bernd Uhlig

Was it a serious restriction for you that no music can be played in the Grand Hall before the official opening on 11 January?

Yes, I found this to be a major challenge, and tried to respond by working with dancers and sounds instead. But of course the idea is that you enter the foyers with a sense of expectation; you’re prepared to walk into the concert hall and you expect to hear something there as well. So it’s disappointing to find that silence reigns. I have to accept this tension – and the audience likewise.

LATEST STORIES

Zum Inhalt springen

Worldwide

Interview: Sasha Waltz

Wie tanzt es sich auf den Treppengeländern im Foyer des Großen Saals?

Die Elbphilharmonie ist wie ein großer Dampfer

Sasha Waltz

Vier Tage lang haben die Choreografin Sasha Waltz und ihre Tanzcompagnie die Elbphilharmonie erobert: Ausgehend von Francis Poulencs Chorwerk »Figure Humaine« weihten sie vom 1. bis 4. Januar die Elbphilharmonie Foyers ein. Dazu erklang Musik von Hildegard von Bingen, Béla Bartók, György Ligeti, Dmitri Schostakowitsch und anderen, beteiligt waren über 80 Tänzer und Musiker, darunter die Geigerin Carolin Widmann.

Sasha Waltz & Guests in der Elbphilharmonie
Vocalconsort Berlin / Probe Sasha Waltz & Guests

Was hat Sie an der Elbphilharmonie besonders inspiriert?

Es gibt so viele Assoziationen hier. Nach außen wirkt sie wie eine große Welle, die sich aus dem Wasser erhebt. Diese Verbindung zum Himmel und zum Wasser spürt man auch innen – manchmal durchaus dramatisch, wenn man ganz nah an die großen Glasscheiben und den Rand des Gebäudes tritt. So wird die Gewalt, die der Blick nach oben oder nach unten birgt, ganz stark körperlich erfahrbar.

Der Innenraum hat wiederum einen klaren Fokus, er führt uns zum Kleinen oder Großen Saal, und vor allem Letzterer birgt wieder ganz viele Assoziationsmöglichkeiten. Er wirkt wie ein großer Dampfer, der die Foyers drumherum wie Wasser zur Seite drängt.

Und dann gibt es dort diese Haut, deren Oberfläche wieder aus ganz vielen Wellen besteht, als würde man von oben auf Wasser schauen, das sich leicht bewegt. Die Architektur lädt also bereits dazu ein, dass es bestimmte Richtungen im Raum gibt, in die man sich bewegt und wo man hingeführt wird.

Probe Sasha Waltz & Guests
Probe Sasha Waltz & Guests © Bernd Uhlig

Sie sagten einmal, dass Sie die Bewegungen Ihrer Choreografien aus der »Atmosphäre des Raumes« entwickeln. Wie gehen Sie dabei vor?

Ich orientiere mich dabei sehr genau an der Architektur und daran, was diese vorgibt. Wo sind Blickachsen, wo gehen von Wänden Richtungen aus, wo sind in der Architektur schon Bewegungen angedacht? Oft leite ich sie auch von der Funktion der architektonischen Details ab, zum Beispiel laden in der Elbphilharmonie die breiten Holzgeländer und Treppen mit ihren individuellen Neigungen bereits zu bestimmten Bewegungen ein. Die Atmosphäre wird sehr stark durch die Architektur beeinflusst. Ich höre quasi zu, was die Architektur mir sagt.

Peggy Grelat-Dupont / Sergiu Matis / Liza Alpízar Aguilar / Corey Scott-Gilbert / Probe Sasha Waltz & Guests
Peggy Grelat-Dupont / Sergiu Matis / Liza Alpízar Aguilar / Corey Scott-Gilbert / Probe Sasha Waltz & Guests © Bernd Uhlig

Sind Tanz und Musik dabei genau festgelegt oder gibt es innerhalb dieser Struktur auch Öffnungen?

Es ist viel festgelegt, aber es gibt an bestimmten Stellen auch Improvisation. Ich würde es aber eher eine »strukturierte Improvisation« nennen, also eine Improvisation, bei denen die Regeln festgelegt sind, mit denen die Tänzer arbeiten können.

Sasha Waltz
Sasha Waltz © Bernd Uhlig

Musikalisch steht das A-cappella-Werk »Figure Humaine« von Francis Poulenc im Mittelpunkt. Warum haben Sie dieses Werk ausgewählt?

»Figure Humaine« ist während des Zweiten Weltkriegs entstanden und steht meiner Meinung auch für einen Zustand, in dem sich unsere Welt heute aktuell befindet: Wir erleben Wut und Hass, Gewalt, Terror und Krieg. Das Werk versteht sich als Aufruf zur Versöhnung und Menschlichkeit. Es bietet Ausblick auf Hoffnung, aber man muss erst durch einen Zustand der Düsternis hindurch. Auch wir befinden uns in sehr schwierigen und gespaltenen Zeiten, durch die wir gehen müssen.

Ich bin der Meinung, dass man das nicht ausklammern kann, auch wenn die Eröffnung dieses Hauses ja eigentlich ein freudiger Anlass ist. Wir wollten jetzt nicht einfach nur fröhliche Barockmusik spielen, das hätte sich nicht richtig angefühlt. Ich denke, wir müssen uns gerade als Künstler mit der Realität auseinandersetzen. Ich verstehe dieses Werk daher einerseits als Mahnung, aber gleichzeitig auch als Symbol der Hoffnung. Der letzte Satz von »Figure Humaine« mündet in einer Freiheitshymne: »Liberté«.

Vocalconsort Berlin / Carolin Widmann / Sasha Waltz
Vocalconsort Berlin / Carolin Widmann / Sasha Waltz © Bernd Uhlig

Welchen Effekt hat die spezielle Platzierung von Tänzern und Publikum im Raum?

Ich denke, es ist eine völlig andere Wahrnehmung der Musik, einfach nur durch die Raumerfahrung. Wenn wir in einem Konzert, in einem fokussierten Kammermusiksaal sitzen, hat man ein ganz anderes Klangerlebnis. Hier kann man von Weitem etwas hören und ganz langsam hinwandern, und gleichzeitig hört man die Schritte oder den Atem der Tänzer, die ganze Klangwelt drum herum, auch die Zuschauer. Die Musiker verändern auch ihre Position im Raum. Der Klang ist in Bewegung, nicht nur an einer Stelle.

Probe Sasha Waltz & Guests
Probe Sasha Waltz & Guests © Bernd Uhlig

War es eigentlich eine große Einschränkung, dass im Großen Saal vor der offiziellen Eröffnung am 11. Januar noch keine Musik erklingen darf?

Ja, ich empfinde das als eine sehr große Herausforderung und habe versucht, stattdessen mit den Tänzern und Geräuschen zu arbeiten. Aber es ist natürlich so, dass sich, wenn man die Foyers betritt, alles darauf aufbaut, dass man in den Saal gelangt – und dass da dann auch etwas erklingt. Man ist also erst mal enttäuscht, wenn man dort nur Stille erlebt. Diese Spannung muss ich nun ertragen – und die Zuschauer auch.

Weitere Blog-Artikel