Video on demand from 28 Mar 2020
available until 28 Mar 2025

Elphi at Home: Anna Vinnitskaya

The pianist gives a solo recital to an empty house: the Elbphilharmonie Grand Hall.

The »Elphi at Home« series was born in spring 2020. When the concert halls were closed to the public, the Elbphilharmonie invited artists to stream concerts live from the Elbphilharmonie.

The Artist

»I never asked myself whether I wanted to be a pianist. Presumably it was initially something my parents wanted, but after five, six years, the piano had become a part of life just like eating and breathing.« For Anna Vinnitskaya, that is still true to this day. And by now, the pianist, who was born in Novorossiysk on the shores of the Black Sea in 1983, is one of the great piano stars of our time.

That such a path can sometimes involve hardships was a lesson she had to learn at the age of 18, when she came to Hamburg all by herself to study music. She now teaches at the Hochschule für Musik herself, sharing her passion and knowledge with students from around the world.

Programme

Johannes Brahms: Vier Balladen op. 10 (1854)

Nr. 1 d-moll: Andante – Allegro
Nr. 2 D-Dur: Andante – Allegro non troppo
Nr. 3 h-moll: Intermezzo: Allegro
Nr. 4 H-Dur: Andante con moto

Robert Schumann: Arabeske op. 18 (1839)

»There was a very special calm in the concert hall that you don't normally experience here: the auditorium is normally filled with the audience and the orchestra, so there is always movement and activity.«

Anna Vinnitskaya

Anna Vinnitskaya Anna Vinnitskaya © Philipp Seliger
Anna Vinnitskaya Anna Vinnitskaya © Philipp Seliger
Anna Vinnitskaya Anna Vinnitskaya © Philipp Seliger
Anna Vinnitskaya Anna Vinnitskaya © Philipp Seliger
Anna Vinnitskaya Anna Vinnitskaya © Philipp Seliger

The Music

The programme of her 30-minute recital opens with the Four Ballads op. 10 by Johannes Brahms. The composer, a gifted pianist himself, wrote them in the summer of 1854 aged only 21. Like many of his early works, these pieces were inspired by poems and vocal music, but in equal measure by the demonic stories of E. T. A. Hoffmann. And needless to say, all four Ballads are highly Romantic in flavour.

Brahms was close friends with Robert Schumann and his wife Frau Clara. Schumann, who was 23 years older than Brahms, wrote his delicate Arabeske in Vienna in 1839. The composer himself declared that he wanted to become »the favourite composer of all Viennese ladies«, and thus made the piece »delicate and vulnerable« in style. His plan didn't come off, but he nonetheless wrote a whole number of piano pieces in Vienna that, like the Arabeske, retain a firm place in the repertoire to this day.

Interview :with Anna Vinnitskaya

Why the Brahms Ballads just now? Out of love for Hamburg?

I thought about what I could play today, and the four Brahms Ballads came to mind. Ballad no. 4 in particular is highly reminiscent of Hamburg: the drizzle, the water, the grey sky. And the first piece in the set is fairly gloomy, too. After the Ballads I played an Arabeske by Schumann, a work that always fills me with a lovely feeling of lightness.

 

What was it like for you to play to an empty house? Do you imagine that there is an audience listening to you, or does it feel more like a rehearsal before the actual recital?

Neither one nor the other. It's a very special feeling to play here in an empty concert hall. I think a lot about how other people are doing – in Italy and Spain, for example, where music is probably the last thing some people need at the moment. But for others, this is a time that offers the chance to reflect and find inner calm. And I felt this sense of inner calm today here in the Grand Hall – a very special calm that you don't normally experience here: the auditorium is normally filled with the audience and the orchestra, so there is always movement and activity. I tried to convey to the virtual audience this sense of calm and peace that I felt here today, and I was very grateful for the opportunity to play under such special circumstances.

 

Do you miss your students at the College of Music? Do you stay in touch with them and teach them from home using Skype or WhatsApp?

At the moment we are still on spring break, and the start of the summer semester has been postponed until 20 April. I very much hope that my students are all in the best of health, and that we can resume teaching at the end of April. Otherwise we'll have to come out with some spontaneous solutions – I could imagine teaching by video, for instance.

 

How do you spend your time in this compulsory break from playing and teaching?

To be quite honest, I'm enjoying this special time at home here in Hamburg together with my children. Finally I have the chance to tidy up, sort things out, cook meals and play games with the children. This is completely new to me, and I am actually really grateful for the opportunity to spend time with my family without obligations or appointments.

More stories

Live stream in
on 27 Nov 2020 at 20:00 :
NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Paavo Järvi

The NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra plays a purely French programme including works by Francis Poulenc und Maurice Ravel.

Mahler’s Ninth with the Concertgebouworkest
Play Video

Video on demand from 11 Feb 2020 : Mahler’s Ninth with the Concertgebouworkest

A dream combination: the Concertgebouworkest, Myung-Whun Chung and Mahler’s Ninth.

Around the World

A trip to the world's fascinating musical styles.

Video on Demand vom 28.3.2020
verfügbar bis 28.3.2025

Elphi at Home: Anna Vinnitskaya

Die Pianistin gibt ein Solo-Konzert vor den leeren Rängen des Großen Saales der Elbphilharmonie.

Die Reihe »Elphi at Home« entstand im Frühling 2020. Als die Säle fürs Publikum geschlossen wurden, lud die Elbphilharmonie Künstler ein, Live-Konzerte per Stream aus der Elbphilharmonie zu senden.

Die Künstlerin

»Ich habe mir nie die Frage gestellt, ob ich eine Pianistin werden möchte. Vermutlich war es anfangs schon ein Wunsch meiner Eltern, doch nach fünf, sechs Jahren hat für mich das Klavier ebenso zum Leben gehört wie das Atmen oder das Essen.« Das hat sich für Anna Vinnitskaya bis heute nicht geändert. Und inzwischen gehört die 1983 am Schwarzen Meer geborene Pianistin zu den ganz großen Klavierstars unserer Zeit.

Auch mit den Herausforderungen einer solchen Berufung ist Anna Vinnitskaya gut vertraut: Mit 18 Jahren zog sie allein nach Hamburg, um Musik zu studieren. Inzwischen unterrichtet sie an der hiesigen Hochschule für Musik und Theater selbst Studenten aus der ganzen Welt. Nun gibt die Wahl-Hamburgerin im menschenleeren Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie ein Sonderkonzert.

Programm

Johannes Brahms: Vier Balladen op. 10 (1854)

Nr. 1 d-moll: Andante – Allegro
Nr. 2 D-Dur: Andante – Allegro non troppo
Nr. 3 h-moll: Intermezzo: Allegro
Nr. 4 H-Dur: Andante con moto

Robert Schumann: Arabeske op. 18 (1839)

»Im Saal war eine ganz besondere Ruhe, die man hier normalerweise nie so erlebt, denn der Saal ist meist gefüllt mit Publikum und mit den Orchestermusikern, es ist immer Bewegung da.«

Anna Vinnitskaya

Anna Vinnitskaya
Anna Vinnitskaya
Anna Vinnitskaya
Anna Vinnitskaya
Anna Vinnitskaya

Zur Musik

Auf dem Programm ihres halbstündigen Solorezitals stehen zunächst die Vier Balladen op. 10 von Johannes Brahms. Der Komponist – selbst ein begnadeter Pianist – schrieb sie im Sommer 1854, mit nur 21 Jahren. Wie viele seiner frühen Werke sind sie von Gedichten und Vokalmusik inspiriert, ebenso aber von den dämonischen Erzählungen E. T. A. Hoffmanns. Und natürlich sind sie allesamt hochromantisch.

Eine innige Freundschaft verband Brahms mit Robert Schumann und dessen Frau Clara. Der 23 Jahre ältere Kollege schrieb seine zarte Arabeske 1839 in Wien, wo er sich »zum Lieblingskomponisten aller Wienerinnen emporschwingen« wollte und das Stück nach eigener Aussage entsprechend »zart und schwächlich« komponierte. Leider glückte das Vorhaben nicht, immerhin aber entstand in Wien eine ganze Reihe von Klavierstücken, die wie die Arabeske bis heute fest im Repertoire verankert sind.

Interview :mit Anna Vinnitskaya

Warum gerade jetzt Brahms-Balladen? Aus Liebe zu Hamburg?

Ich habe überlegt, was ich heute spielen könnte und da sind mir die vier Balladen von Brahms eingefallen. Besonders in der Ballade Nr. 4 hört man ganz viel von Hamburg – den Nieselregen, das Wasser, den grauen Himmel. Auch die erste Ballade ist ziemlich düster. Nach den Balladen habe ich noch eine Arabeske von Schumann gespielt, das Stück gibt mir immer so ein schönes, leichtes Gefühl.

 

Wie ist das für Sie, in diesem leeren Saal zu spielen? Stellen Sie sich vor, dass er voller Menschen ist, die Ihnen zuhören, oder fühlt es sich mehr wie eine Probe vor dem Konzert an?

Weder noch. Es ist ein ganz besonderes Gefühl, hier im leeren Saal zu spielen. Ich denke viel daran, wie es den anderen Menschen geht. An Italien und Spanien, wo manche Leute im Moment vielleicht gar keine Musik gebrauchen können. Aber für einige bietet diese Zeit auch die Möglichkeit, zu sich zu kommen und Ruhe zu spüren. Diese Ruhe habe ich heute auch in diesem Saal gespürt – eine ganz besondere Ruhe, die man hier normalerweise nie so erlebt, denn der Saal ist meist gefüllt mit Publikum und mit den Orchestermusikern, es ist immer Bewegung da. Ich habe versucht, dem virtuellen Publikum etwas von diesem schönen Gefühl, das ich heute hier verspürt habe, zu vermitteln und bin sehr dankbar, dass ich hier sein darf unter so besonderen Umständen.

 

Vermissen Sie Ihre Schüler an der Hochschule? Halten Sie mit ihnen über Skype oder WhatsApp Kontakt und unterrichten von zu Haus?

Gerade haben wir noch Semesterferien und der Semesterbeginn wurde auf den 20. April verschoben. Ich hoffe sehr, dass meine Studenten alle bei bester Gesundheit sind und es Ende April dann weitergehen kann. Sonst müssen wir uns eben viel spontan ausdenken – Unterricht per Video könnte ich mir auch vorstellen.

 

Wie verbringen Sie Ihre Zeit in dieser Zwangspause vom Konzertieren und Unterrichten?

Um ehrlich zu sein, genieße ich diese besondere Zeit hier in Hamburg zu Hause mit den Kindern. Endlich kommen meine Hände zum Aufräumen, Aussortieren, Essen kochen und mit den Kindern Spiele spielen. Das habe ich nie gekannt davor und ich bin eigentlich sehr dankbar für diese Tage, die ich nur mit meiner Familie verbringen kann, ganz ohne Termine.

 

Weitere Beiträge

Love Letters from London

Anoushka Shankar über ihr Reflektor-Wochenende, die Londoner Szene und das Erbe von Ravi Shankar.

Elbphilharmonie Offstage #04 – Kreative Bildung

Wie entsteht Kreativität und wie kann man sie fördern – darüber sprechen wir mit der Pädagogin Kristina Calvert.

NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Esa-Pekka Salonen
Video abspielen

Video on Demand vom 20.10.2020 : NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Esa-Pekka Salonen

Aus dem großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie: Der finnische Stardirigent und das NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester mit Werken von Strauss und Ravel.