Internationales Musikfest Hamburg

»Hope« is the overall motto of this year's Hamburg International Music Festival , which traditionally adds numerous musical highlights towards the end of the season to what is already a first-class range of concerts.

Once again, the Hamburg orchestras and top-class guests contribute projects tailored to fit the concept, which will have nationwide appeal.

With its choice of motto, the Music Festival is responding once more to current social and political developments. After all, hope, the  unwavering belief in a better future, is probably one of the strongest human traits. And in a time of such global challenges as the climate change or the Corona pandemic, hope seems more necessary than ever.

By the same token, music history is full of examples of unbroken, determined optimism: Beethoven for instance, in whose Fifth Symphony we can hear clearly how he wanted to »grab Fate by the throat« as a response to his encroaching deafness. Or Handel, who clothed the liberation of Israel from Egyptian captivity, including the parting of the Red Sea, in opulent tones.
And the character of medieval legend Genoveva, whom Schumann made the eponymous heroine of his only opera, defends herself staunchly against insults to her honour, and hopes for a happy end. But one shouldn't always expect things to turn out well.

As Porgy and Bess, the tragic heroes of Gershwin's jazz opera of the same name, know only too well. The semi-scenic performance under the baton of NDR chief conductor Alan Gilbert follows in the footsteps of spectacular Music Festival productions like »Le Grand Macabre«. On the other hand, Hamburg people are well aware from the history of building the Elbphilharmonie that hope springs eternal…

Gefördert durch die Kühne-Stiftung, die Stiftung Elbphilharmonie und den Förderkreis Internationales Musikfest Hamburg

Internationales Musikfest Hamburg

»Hoffnung« lautet dieses Mal das übergreifende Motto des Internationalen Musikfests Hamburg, das traditionell zum Saisonende hin für eine programmatische Verdichtung des ohnehin erstklassigen Konzertangebots der Hansestadt sorgt. Wieder steuern sowohl die Hamburger Orchester als auch hochkarätige Gäste dramaturgisch maßgeschneiderte Projekte bei, die überregionale Strahlkraft entfalten.

Mit der Wahl des Leitthemas reagiert das Musikfest einmal mehr auf aktuelle gesellschaftspolitische Entwicklungen. Denn Hoffnung, der unbeirrbare Glaube an eine bessere Zukunft, ist wohl einer der stärksten menschlichen Wesenszüge. Und gerade angesichts globaler Herausforderungen wie dem Klimawandel oder der Corona-Pandemie scheint er notwendiger denn je.

Auch die Musikgeschichte ist voller Beispiele für ungebrochenen, kämpferischen Optimismus: Beethoven etwa, dessen Fünfter Sinfonie man anhört, dass er angesichts seiner einsetzenden Taubheit »dem Schicksal in den Rachen greifen« wollte. Oder Händel, der die Befreiung Israels aus der ägyptischen Gefangenschaft samt Zug durchs Rote Meer in opulente Töne kleidete.

Auch die mittelalterliche Sagenfigur Genoveva, die Schumann zur Titelheldin seiner einzigen Oper machte, bleibt angesichts ehrverletzender Vorwürfe standhaft und hofft auf ein Happy End. Immer davon ausgehen sollte man freilich nicht.

Davon können Porgy und Bess ein bluesiges Liedchen singen, die tragischen Helden von Gershwins gleichnamiger Jazz- Oper. Die halbszenische Aufführung unter der Leitung von NDR-Chefdirigent Alan Gilbert tritt die Nachfolge spektakulärer Musikfest-Produktionen wie »Le Grand Macabre« an. Andererseits: Dass die Hoffnung sprichwörtlich zuletzt stirbt, wissen Hamburger ja spätestens seit der Baugeschichte der Elbphilharmonie …

Gefördert durch die Kühne-Stiftung, die Stiftung Elbphilharmonie und den Förderkreis Internationales Musikfest Hamburg